Music & Movies: The Value of the Score

Associated Event

Access: On pre-registration

Fri Feb 16 14:00 – 15:30 Conference Lounge at Gropius Park
on-site only

Nordic composers are prolific as showcased through this year's HARPA-nominated scores. Come and meet the next Hildur Gudnadóttir (Tár) or Ludwig Göransson (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever) as we get into an in-depth conversation with some of this year's most talented Nordic composers.

From Denmark, Jonas Struck will present the highly acclaimed documentary Lea Glob's "Apolonia, Apolonia".

Finland's renowned composer Pessi Levanto will dig into his work in Karoline Lyngbye's "Superposition".

The Icelandic nominee is Edvard Egilsson who will dissect his work in Anna Hints' "Smoke Sauna Sisterhood" which won the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival in 2023.

From Norway, we have Ola Fløttum, composer of multiple award-winning, and Academy Award-nominated film "The Worst Person in the World", talking about his work in Ole Giæver's "Let the River Flow".

Finally, from Sweden, we have a composer duo Irya Gmeyner & Martin Hederos, who will focus on the celebrated Swedish series "Thin Blue Line".

Since 2010 Nordic Film Music Days has been the place where composers, musicians, producers, and directors within the film and music industry can communicate, start future collaborations, educate, and network.

As a part of Nordic Film Music Days, the HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award is handed out to a Nordic composer who has shown excellent work in a composition for a feature, documentary, or TV series.

This year the award will be handed out on Saturday, February 17th at Nordische Botschaften as the culmination of Nordic Film Music Days.

Nordic Film Music Days is carried out as a collaboration between the Nordic composer organisations, Music Finland, and the Nordic Embassies in Berlin.

For more info on HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award & Nordic Film Music Days, the seminars, the talks, the screenings, and the parties visit

All activities during Nordic Film Music Days are free of charge and don’t require any badge.

This event requires pre-registration through Eventbrite. Please click here to register.

Hosted by


Jonas Struck


Pessi Levanto


Edvard Egilsson


Ola Fløttum


Irya Gmeyner



Kate Havnevik

Composer and Songwriter

Sydney Levine